Skip to main content

2023 National Panhellenic Conference Foundation Scholarship Recipients Announced

By July 31, 2023August 4th, 2023News Release, Press Release

INDIANAPOLIS – The National Panhellenic Conference Foundation (NPC Foundation) today  announced the recipients of NPC Foundation scholarship grants for 2023. The NPC Foundation  awarded scholarships to four sorority women, totaling $4,000, to help offset their undergraduate or  graduate education costs. 

The 2023 NPC Foundation scholarship award recipients are:

  • Kayla Lauver, Alpha Sigma Tau, James Madison University.
  • Madison Ring, Delta Phi Epsilon, Nova Southeastern University.
  • Sara Ringenbach, Delta Zeta, Muhlenberg College.
  • Maggie Simons, Alpha Gamma Delta, Kettering University.

“The outstanding women who have received this year’s NPC Foundation scholarships represent the qualities the National Panhellenic Conference holds highest in sorority membership – leadership,  service, philanthropy, integrity and scholarship.” said Diane Straker, president of the NPC Foundation  Board of Trustees. “They help advance these values of the sorority experience and serve as examples  of the best of NPC. College affordability has become an even greater challenge each year, and it is our  hope that these scholarships can help our women achieve their academic goals and continue to be  outstanding members of their communities.” 

Straker added, “Thank you to the many NPC women who helped in the selection of these scholarship  recipients and to the member organizations who support the NPC Foundation scholarship program.” 

More about each scholarship and its recipient follows. 

Alpha Phi/Betty Mullins Jones Scholarship
Maggie Simons, Alpha Gamma Delta, is the recipient of the Alpha Phi/Betty Mullins Jones Scholarship  established by the Alpha Phi Foundation to honor Betty Mullins Jones’ commitment to the National  Panhellenic Conference. This scholarship is awarded annually to a collegiate Panhellenic woman who  has worked to further her fraternal community’s reputation on her campus and who embodies the  values of sisterhood, philanthropy and scholarship. This $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a woman  who makes a difference in sorority life by serving on her College Panhellenic.

Simons is pursuing a degree in chemical engineering, and pursuing minors in biochemistry & pre-law  at Kettering University, and will be attending law school to specialize in Intellectual Property. Maggie is an active leader in her chapter, serving as the vice president of new member experience, as well as various other activities on her campus, including serving as a desk resident assistant. 

Carole Jurenko Jones Scholarship

Madison Ring, Delta Phi Epsilon, is the recipient of the Carole Jurenko Jones Scholarship, established by Alpha Omicron Pi. This $1,000 scholarship honors Carole Jurenko Jones’ commitment to the National Panhellenic Conference, including serving as NPC chairman during the 2017-19 and 2019-21 bienniums. This scholarship is awarded annually to a collegiate member in good standing of an NPC member organization who has served in a chapter or Panhellenic leadership role. It also may be awarded to an alumna in good standing who demonstrates Panhellenic spirit, outstanding service and leadership to her campus or community.

Ring attends Nova Southeastern University and is studying dance and pre-health. She has served on her Panhellenic Council’s executive board previously as the vice president of programming and is currently serving as the president.

Mary Louise Roller Scholarship

Sara Ringenbach, Delta Zeta, is the recipient of the Mary Louise Roller Scholarship. This scholarship was funded originally by a grant from Alpha Omicron Pi in honor of Mrs. Roller’s 33-year tenure on Alpha Omicron Pi’s Panhellenic delegation. The Mary Louise Roller Scholarship is a $1,000 scholarship and will be awarded to an undergraduate woman who plans to attend graduate school the following fall. Each recipient shall display outstanding service to her local College Panhellenic during her undergraduate years. Each College Panhellenic may nominate one candidate per year.

Ringenbach is a May 2023 graduate from Muhlenberg College where she majored in biochemistry & public health. She will be attending medical school at Lewis Katz School of Medicine at St. Luke’s Bethlehem.

Sigma Kappa Courage and Conviction Scholarship

Kayla Lauver, Alpha Sigma Tau, is the recipient of the Sigma Kappa Courage and Conviction Scholarship. This scholarship award was funded by Sigma Kappa in honor of Donna Crain King’s service as NPC chairman during the 2015-17 biennium. It is a $1,000 scholarship awarded annually. The scholarship is awarded to a collegiate or alumna member in good standing of a Panhellenic organization who has achieved a minimum 3.0 GPA, displayed significant service or contributions to her chapter, university or community at large, and demonstrated noteworthy “courage and conviction.”

Lauver is an undergraduate at James Madison University pursuing a degree in health services administration. She has served in various positions on her chapter’s junior executive and executive board, and is currently serving as her chapter’s president.


About the National Panhellenic Conference Foundation (NPC Foundation)

Established in 1995, the mission of the National Panhellenic Conference Foundation is to support the  priorities and initiatives of the National Panhellenic Conference. The NPC Foundation does so through  prudent investment and disbursement of funds that enables the Conference to better advocate for and  support the sorority experience. (

About National Panhellenic Conference 

NPC is the trade association for 26 national and international sororities and is one of the largest organizations advocating for the sorority experience. Through its advocacy, NPC highlights the importance of women’s-only spaces and showcases the transformational power of the sorority experience. For more information, including a complete list of NPC sororities, visit or find NPC on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Print-Friendly Version